Thanks to Goodreads…

Have you ever forgotten that you read a certain book? It’s a really weird feeling.

Apparently I read Megabelt, by Nick May. I’ve been playing around with my widgets for this blog for the past day and I discovered one for Goodreads. I’ve been using that website for a few years now, and I’m glad I have been. I added the widget and found that I have Megabelt listed as one of the books I’ve read recently. I even rated it, giving it three stars. Nothing to brag about if I can’t even remember reading it. I remember the first chapter, but that’s about it.

The author stumbled upon me on Twitter, and his bio had a link to purchase his book. I read the summary on Amazon.com and decided to be a nice person and support another young author. I read an excerpt of it on Amazon.com, and then I bought the book. It’s sitting on my living room desk at the moment, because my bookcases need some rearranging. I feel awful, but for the life of me I can’t remember the ending.

Two years ago, my New Year’s Resolution was to avoid rereading any books. Whenever I ran into a book that sounded interesting, I raced to the computer and purchased it on Amazon.com, only expanding my collection of unread books. Megabelt was one of the few books purchased on Amazon.com that I have managed to read.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Review

Leave a Reply

