Happy Birthday, Shakespeare!

Dear Friend,

Oh Will, you old fart! It’s your birthday again, and yet again you are not here to celebrate it with us. Unfortunately, I don’t have much time to devote to a detailed description of your life achievements, but I do have a moment to say just a few words.

You brought years of entertainment to the early 17th Century, and for that I am eternally grateful. Why? Because I, in the 21st century, am still intrigued by your ever classic works. I took a class completely devoted to studying your plays a few years back, and it was one of my favorite classes. I didn’t buy the textbook, I have to admit; but I did hike up to the 4th floor of the library nearly every week to hunt down the next play we’d cover in class that week. And when I say 4th floor, I really mean to include the 1st-, 2nd-, and 3rd-floor balconies and an extra flight of stairs in between the 3rd-floor balcony and 4th floor. Why it was there, I’ll never know. But it certainly kept me in shape that semester. Since I graduated, though, they’ve completely remodeled the library and I haven’t been back to find your collection.

My favorite play of  yours is Much Ado About Nothing, hands down. Thank you for providing hours of comedic entertainment for peasants and lords alike that was classic enough to be carried through to my generation. Thank you for persevering through your life hardships to produce such epic works.

You are quite possibly the classic literature figure I would most love to meet. Perhaps you’re in heaven now, and we’ll meet up someday and have a chat over tea and biscuits. Perhaps I’m crazy. But no matter. It’s your birthday, and although you’re gone, you will forever be preserved in the world of classic literature. Thank you for your unknowingly impactful contribution to the written word and all its glory. Thank you for existing, William Shakespeare.

 

Sincerely,

Your Public Admirer

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Authors, Birthdays, Personal, This Day in History

Leave a Reply

