4 Years is Kind of a Long Time…

https://i2.wp.com/www2.psd100.com/ppp/2013/09/24/Colorful-Balloons-Celebration-Vector-Background-0924072203.jpgThis past May marked the 4th anniversary of my college graduation. Three days ago marked the 8th of my high school graduation. And today marks the 4th year since I created this blog.

I have to admit, I’m aware that I’m not getting too far with it, but it’s still fun to have something online that is just mine aside from the typical social media sites. Not gonna lie, they get boring after awhile. Here, I can write and write and write some more. And that’s what I love to do. I won’t get brokenhearted if a certain someone doesn’t “Like” my post. I won’t cry if my favorite celebrity doesn’t tweet me back. Facebook and Twitter are slowly becoming interchangeable, anyway.

But it is exciting to sign into my WordPress account and find that 6 people have viewed my page in the last few days since my last post. (Pathetic, I know. A whopping number 6!) Comments are a bonus, because they nearly never appear. Granted, I went how many years and months between posts at times? which of course has everything to do with the number of views and everything that comes with them. I am by no means an SEO genius. I was an English major, for crying out loud. And what can you do with an English degree, anyway? Seriously. I enjoy writing, so that’s what I’m doing here and with a pen and paper in my spare time.

I’m trying to keep this going, trying to post when I can. Pretty soon, I’d like to get a few review posts up, because I’ve recently finished reading Divergent and City of Heavenly Fire and I’m super pumped for those reviews because they were excellent books. For now, my reading streak continues with Gone Girl, a more adult novel by Gillian Flynn, suggested by a dear friend.

Stephen King says you can’t be a good writer if you don’t read. I’ve never read any of his fiction, but I do agree with him. I’ve found my writing style is greatly impacted by the wide variety of books I read. I’ve recently decided to stray from my norm, to spend time write some short stories. Writer’s Digest is an incredibly useful magazine. I got suckered into purchasing a magazine subscription from an adorable little Girl Scout, and every other month I’m blessed with snippets of helpful hints that boost my creativity and blossom new ideas on how to get published (once I actually finish something).

Within the next 4 years, I plan to keep reading, writing, and possibly living in the in between. Here’s to a better 4 years for my blog on WordPress!

 

How long have you had your blog? How often do you post?

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

